TOWNSHIP HIGH SCHOOL DISTRICT 211 Palatine, Illinois

BOARD OF EDUCATION REGULAR MEETING November 9, 2017 7:30 p.m. (Official)

A regular meeting of the Board of Education, Township High School District 211, Cook County,

Palatine High School Assistant Principal Mike Alther received the 'Those Who Excel' award in the school administrator category. Mike has provided a nearly constant presence around Palatine High School for the past 15 years. As one parent of two Palatine graduates said, 'No matter where you go in the Palatine High School

challenging course that offers students the opportunity to receive both high school and college credit and to obtain certification as a nursing assistant. An administrator who has worked with John for several years commented that

prompting and, soon after, participation in her classes increased. Another issue the team addressed

President Burke congratulated everyone here tonight, on behalf of the Board of Education, for receiving their recognition awards and she expressed her appreciation to them for their work.

Break

The Board of Education took a break from 7:43 p.m. to 7:53 p.m. while pictures were taken of the recognition award winners.

Citizens' Petitions and Appearances

President Burke as

*Financial Report – As of September 30, 2017

Mrs. Klimkowicz made a motion, seconded by Mr. Yung, that the Statement of Revenues, Expenditures, Other Financing Sources (Uses), and Changes in Fund Balances for the period ending September 30, 2017 be approved and placed on file.

On which motion a roll call vote was held with the following results:

Aye: Peter Dombrowski

Will Hinshaw Anna Klimkowicz Robert LeFevre Steven Rosenblum Edward Yung Mucia Burke

The motion carried unanimously.

*Investment Report – As of September 30, 2017

Mrs. Klimkowicz made a motion, seconded by Mr. Yung, that the investment report for the period ending

*Acceptance of Donation - Automobile

Mrs. Klimkowicz made a motion, seconded by Mr. Yung, that the Board of Education formally accepts the donation of a 2004 Dodge from Glennon and Nina Rau; further, that a letter of appreciation be sent, on the Board's behalf, by the Superintendent.

On which motion a roll call was held with the following results:

Aye: Peter Dombrowski

Will Hinshaw Anna Klimkowicz Robert LeFevre Steven Rosenblum Edward Yung Mucia Burke

The motion carried unanimously.

*Personnel Recommendations

Mrs. Klimkowicz made a motion, seconded by Mr. Yung, that personnel recommendations be accepted as presented.

Child Care Leave:

Richmond, Nicole; family and consumer sciences, Palatine High School

Support Staff New Hires:

Banahan, Lucie; teacher assistant, Schaumburg High School Carroll, Michael; bus driver, G. A. McElroy Administration Center Grossman, Whitney; teacher assistant, Higgins Education Center

Support Staff Resignations:

Kazmer, Nancy; media assistant, Hoffman Estates High School Schwarz, Karl; bus driver, G. A. McElroy Administration Center

On which motion a roll call vote was held with the following results:

Aye: Peter Dombrowski

Will Hinshaw Anna Klimkowicz Robert LeFevre Steven Rosenblum Edward Yung Mucia Burke

The motion carried unanimously.

District Websites Rebuilding and Hosting

Mrs. Klimkowicz made a motion, seconded by Mr. Yung, that the Board of Education approve the proposal by Blackboard, Inc. to rebuild and host eight District 211 websites at a cost of \$26,710.

Education Research Development/Legislative Report

Mr. Dombrowski

On which motion a roll call vote was held with the following results:

Aye: Peter Dombrowski

Will Hinshaw Anna Klimkowicz Robert LeFevre Steven Rosenblum Edward Yung Mucia Burke

Nay: None

The motion carried unanimously.

The Board of Education entered executive session at 8:53 p.m. and resumed its meeting at 10:22 p.m.

Discipline of Staff Members

Mrs. Klimkowicz made a motion, seconded by Mr. Yung, that employee Eric Byrne be suspended for one (1) day without pay; further, that the Board Secretary notify said employee in writing of this action by the Board of Education.

On which motion a roll call vote was held with the following results:

Aye: Steven Rosenblum

Robert LeFevre Peter Dombrowski Edward Yung Will Hinshaw Anna Klimkowicz Mucia Burke

Nay: None

The motion carried unanimously.

Mrs. Klimkowicz made a motion, seconded by Mr. Yung, that