# TOWNSHIP HIGH SCHOOL DISTRICT 211 Palatine, Illinois

# BOARD OF EDUCATION REGULAR MEETING July 18, 2019 7:30 p.m. Official

A regular meeting of the Board of Education, Township High School District 211, Cook County, Illinois was held on July 18, 2019 at 7:30 p.m. in the G. A. McElroy Administration Center at 1750 South Roselle Road, Palatine, Illinois.

# ROLL CALL

Physically Present:

Kimberly Cavill, Member Mark J. Cramer, Member Peter R. Dombrowski, Member Anna Klimkowicz, Vice President and Member Steven Rosenblum, Member Edward M. Yung, Secretary and Member

LeFevre led the Board of Education and the audience in the Pledge of Allegiance.

## **Golden Apple Scholars**

Superintendent Cates made the following comments:

"Each year, thousands of Illinois high school students who are planning to enter the teaching profession are nominated for Golden Apple Scholarships, with just 200 being selected in a comprehensive and competitive process. I am proud to announce that three High School District 211 students have been named 2019 Golden Apple Scholars. In return for the financial support they will receive, Golden Apple Scholars must attend an Illinois college or university and agree to teach for five years in an Illinois school of need following graduation.

It has been said that these students represent the "best and brightest young men and women in Illinois." On behalf of the Board of Education, I would like to thank these students for their dedication to educational excellence and congratulate them on their success.

Our Golden Apple Scholarship student from Palatine High School (Jessica Streepy) was unable to be with us this evening; however, at this time, I'd like to invite the other sponsors, both from Conant High School, to introduce their Golden Apple Scholars."

Superintendent Cates introduced James B. Conant High School Family and Consumer Sciences Teacher Angela Drenth. Mrs. Drenth introduced and President LeFevre presented a certificate to Madison Aykroid for being named a 2019 Golden Apple Scholar.

Superintendent Cates introduced James B. Conant High School Music Teacher Leann Roder-Manson. Mrs. Roder-Manson introduced and President LeFevre presented a certificate to Laura Vesco for being named a 2019 Golden Apple Scholar.

# Support in a Life-Saving Situation

Superintendent Cates made the following comments:

"This evening, we want to take a few moments to recognize a very special Hoffman Estates High School graduate and you'll learn in a moment that his quick reactions made a difference in someone's life. What's even more unique about this is that the person's life he helped save has a direct connection to Hoffman Estates High School. The Board of Education is pleased to recognize this student and Board President Mr. LeFevre has a certificate to present to him in just a moment."

Superintendent Cates introduced Hoffman Estates High School Assistant Principal Brian Harlan. Mr. Harlan introduced Hoffman Estates High School student Stefan Knappik, who could not be here this evening, for playing a key role in saving a life.

President LeFevre stated on behalf of the Board that it was nice to take the time to recognize the Golden Apple Scholars for their fantastic accomplishments this evening.

## **Citizen Appearances and Presentations**

President LeFevre asked if there was anyone present, not on the agenda, and who did not sign up to speak, who wished to speak before the Board of Education. No one came forward.

#### **Consent Agenda**

Mr. Dombrowski made a moti $\delta f_0$  a moti $\delta f_0$  and  $\delta g$  and  $\delta$ 

On which motion a roll call vote was held with the following results:

Aye:

Kimberly Cavill Mark Cramer Peter Dombrowski On which motion a roll call vote was held with the following results:

Aye:

Kimberly Cavill Mark Cramer Peter Dombrowski Anna Klimkowicz Steven Rosenblum

Nay:

The motion carried unanimously.

# \*Resolution: Employment of Summer School Teachers

Mr. Dombrowski made a motion, seconded by Mr. Yung, that the resolution to employ teachers for the 2019 summer school session be adopted as presented (attached to official minutes).

On which motion a roll call vote was held with the following results:

Aye:	Kimberly Cavill
	Mark Cramer
	Peter Dombrowski
	Anna Klimkowicz
	Steven Rosenblum
	Edward Yung
	Robert LeFevre

Nay:

None

The motion carried unanimously.

#### **\*Resolution: Hazardous Transportation Areas**

Mr. Dombrowski made a motion, seconded by Mr. Yung, that the Board of Education approve the resolution identifying hazardous transportation areas for students walking to James B. Conant, Hoffman Estates, and William Fremd High Schools (attached to official minutes).

On which motion a roll call vote was held with the following results:

Aye:

Kimberly Cavill Mark Cramer Peter Dombrowski Anna Klimkowicz Steven Rosenblum Edward Yung Robert LeFevre

Nay:

None

The motion carried unanimously.

#### **\*Personnel Recommendations**

Mr. Dombrowski made a motion, seconded by Mr. Yung, that the personnel recommendations be accepted as presented.

<u>Full-Time Teacher Employment:</u> (Effective 2019-2020 School Year)

Cartwright, Jenna; social worker intern, Schaumburg High School McLoughlin, Mary; English as a second language, Palatine High School

# Illinois Association of School Boards Annual Membership ó 2019-2020

Mr. Rosenblum made a motion, seconded by Mr. Yung, that the Board of Education renew its membership in the Illinois Association of School Boards for 2019-2020 and authorize the Superintendent to pay the annual dues of \$23,274.

After discussion, a roll call vote was held with the following results:

Aye:

Edward Yung Steven Rosenblum Kimberly Cavill Mark Cramer Anna Klimkowicz Robert LeFevre

Nay:

Peter Dombrowski

The motion carried 6-1.

## 2019-2020 Education Research Development/Legislative Renewal

Mrs. Klimkowicz made