TOWNSHIP HIGH SCHOOL DISTRICT 211 Palatine, Illinois

BOARD OF EDUCATION REGULAR MEETING August 15, 2019 7:30 p.m. Official

A regular meeting of the Board of Education, Township High School District 211, Cook County, Illinois was held on August 15, 2019 at 7:30 p.m. in the G. A. McElroy Administration Center at 1750 South Roselle Road, Palatine, Illinois.

Member Anna Klimkowicz, Vice President and Member Steven Rosenblum, Member Edward M. Yung, Secretary and Member Robert J. LeFevre, Jr., President and Member

Absent: None

Also present were: Daniel E. Cates, Superintendent; members of the District administrative staff; interested citizens; and members of the press.

Pledge of Allegiance

President LeFevre led the Board of Education and the audience in the Pledge of Allegiance.

Introduction of Newly Appointed, Promoted, and Transferred Administrators

Superintendent Cates introduced Luis Arroyo, 12-month assistant principal, Palatine High School; Jacquese Gilbert, director of summer school and community outreach; Jacob Hughes, dean of students, Schaumburg High School; Gordon James, 10-month assistant principal, Hoffman Estates High School; Karen Lasher, director of business services; Kirk Macnider, 10-month assistant principal, Schaumburg High School; Tony Medina, principal, Palatine High School; Sandra Mir, accounting manager; Justin Onayemi, 12-month assistant principal, Hoffman Estates High School; John Pahlman, director of facilities and purchasing; Joyce Richardson, dean of students, Palatine High School; Linda Serafini, dean of students, Hoffman Estates High School; Jason Stevens, dean of students, Hoffman Estates High School; Joshua Teschner, dean of students, William Fremd High School; Lindsay Tiritilli, assistant director of special education; and John Volgi, 10-month assistant principal, Palatine High School.

President LeFevre congratulated the administrators who were recognized tonight, on behalf of the Board, and he wished them an outstanding year in their new roles and with their new responsibilities.

Carmody, Terrence; bus driver, G. A. McElroy Administration Center

Carranza, Alexander; custodian, Schaumburg High School

Carroll, Greg; teacher assistant, Palatine High School

Collelo, Alis; teacher assistant, Palatine High School

Cooper, Jason; teacher assistant, James B. Conant High School

Corbett, Brent; teacher assistant, Palatine High School

Craigmile, Matthew; bus driver, G. A. McElroy Administration Center

Droege, Janet; support staff assistant, Schaumburg High School

Faleni, Bernadette; food service, Palatine High School

Favela; Edgar; teacher assistant, Palatine High School

Ferrier, Teresa; teacher assistant, Palatine High School

Gatz, Garrett; teacher assistant, Higgins Education Center

Gautier, Gisela; bus driver, G. A. McElroy Administration Center

Goff, Carly; teacher assistant, Palatine High School

Herrman, Melissa; food service, Hoffman Estates High School

Iacoviello, Antonella; teacher assistant, Palatine High School

Karapanos, Gus; teacher assistant, James B. Conant High School

Kuenster, Anton; teacher assistant, Higgins Education Center

Lango, Adam; teacher assistant, Higgins Education Center

Lindeen, Catherine; teacher assistant, Schaumburg High School

Macahon, Donna; teacher assistant, Palatine High School

Mainock, Stephanie; support staff assistant, Hoffman Estates High School

Marcus, Jeff; custodian, William Fremd High School

Nigliaccio, Michael; teacher assistant, Palatine High School

Proctor, Julia; teacher assistant, Palatine High School

Rivera, Jessica; bus driver, G. A. McElroy Administration Center

Sherman, Dahlia; sign language interpreter, Palatine High School

Stokes, Jenna; teacher assistant, Palatine High School

Topp, Lynette; teacher assistant, Palatine High School

Valenti, Anthony; custodian, Schaumburg High School

Voigt, Ashley; teacher assistant, Palatine High School

Von Arx, William; custodian, James B. Conant High School

Wagner, Kyle; teacher assistant, Schaumburg High School

Wicker, Thomas; mechanic, Palatine High School

Wicks, Tracey; custodian, Schaumburg High School

Williams, Daniel; teacher assistant, Palatine High School

Zavala, Rafael; custodian, William Fremd High School

Support Staff Resignations:

Abuasba, Norma; teacher assistant, Higgins Education Center

Benoit, Lisa; custodian, Palatine High School

Broviak, Brittany; teacher assistant, North Campus

Clark, Shannon; teacher assistant, North Campus

Grossman, Whitney; teacher assistant, Palatine High School

Hughes, Angela; teacher assistant, Palatine High School

Loza

The Board of Education also discussed adding the agenda items involving the employer contributions to the Illinois Municipal Retirement to its budget and finance committee meeting on October 3, 2019. There was also a request to change the time for the budget and finance committee meetings to 7:30 p.m. There were no objections.

Health/Dental Insurance Premium Rates for 2020

Mrs. Klimkowicz made a motion, seconded by Mr. Rosenblum, that the Board of Education approve the established Blue Cross/Blue Shield premium equivalent rates, contribution percentages, and wellness incentive structure for the applicable employee groups, effective January 1, 2020 as presented.

On which motion a roll call vote was held with the following results:

Aye: Peter Dombrowski

Edward Yung

Steven Rosenblum

Mark Cramer Anna Klimkowicz Kimberly Cavill Robert LeFevre

Nay: None

The motion carried unanimously.

On which motion a roll call vote was held with the following results:

Mark Cramer

Steven Rosenblum Edward Yung Anna Klimkowicz Kimberly Cavill Robert LeFevre

Nay: None

The motion carried unanimously.

Acceptance of Retirement Requests

Mr. Rosenblum made a motion, seconded by Mrs. Klimkowicz, that the Board of Education accepts the retirement requests of James Becker, effective June 2021 according to the Master Contract of the District 211 Operations Maintenance Group; Karen Becker, effective June 2020 according to the Master Contract of the District 211 Operations Maintenance Group; David Naumann, effective December 2022 according to the Master Contract of the District 211 United Support Staff; and Jeffrey Sigler, effective June 2022 according to the Master Contract of the District 211 Operations Maintenance Group.

On which motion a roll call vote was held with the following results:

Aye: Steven Rosenblum Kimberly Cavill

Mark Cramer